The Ultimate Brokeback Forum

Author Topic: The Musical Score  (Read 410936 times)

Offline peteinportland

• Obsessed
The Musical Score
« on: January 17, 2006, 05:52:34 PM »
There have been several people comment on the artistic elements of the score of BBM. This is the thread to discuss the score and everything relating to it. As I am not Knowledgeable about the technique and the artistry of scoring films, I greatly look forward to learning much from the discussion.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 06:39:35 AM by peteinportland »

Offline jim ...

• Global Moderator
  • Expert
Re: Element: The Musical Score
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2006, 07:41:37 PM »
As a musician by profession, I am always intrigued with the musical score when watching a film.  The impact of this score almost goes unnoticed ... it's there to enhance but not get in the way.  Gustavo Santaolalla has done this beautifully in BBM.  The music he used in the bar/restaurant scenes is obvious country fair and fits the atmosphere well.  What I am most intrigued with is the rest of the score .  There is not much in the way of lush orchestration. He uses it sparingly, mainly to enhance large scenic shots. Otherwise, the music itself is almost minimalistic in nature.  Simple is the word ... and fits the simplicity of the way of  life in rural Wyoming.  In these moments, the music is sparse .... often only a guitar .... two or three voices intertwined with each other.  The timing and entry of the music is so subtle that one almost doesn't even realize it's there.  If you listen carefully enough, Santaolalla foreshadows emotionally pivotal moments in the story.  One that comes to mind is the scene near the end of the movie when Ennis is about to discover the shirts in Jack's closet.  As Ennis is kneeling in the closet and is about to discover them, there is a single note ... plucked on the guitar. It's as though at that very moment, Ennis sees the shirts, and the realization of their meaning all comes together.